Participating Newsrooms

This year, NewsMatch will support a network of more than 300 independent news organizations that are nonprofit, nonpartisan and dedicated to public service.

Newsrooms are listed alphabetically by state then by publication name.


# Publications City State Website
1 BirminghamWatch Birmingham Alabama birminghamwatch.org
2 CoastAlaska and KSTK, KCAW, KFSK, KRBD, KUCB, KTOO Juneau Alaska coastalaska.org
3 Arizona Center for Investigative Reporting Phoenix Arizona azcir.org
4 Indian Country Today Phoenix Arizona indiancountrytoday.com
5 Patagonia Regional Times Patagonia Arizona patagoniaregionaltimes.org
6 TucsonSentinel.com Tucson Arizona TucsonSentinel.com
7 Arkansas Nonprofit News Network Little Rock Arkansas arknews.org
8 Bay City News Foundation Berkeley California LocalNewsMatters.org
9 Bay Nature Berkeley California baynature.org
10 BenitoLink Hollister California benitolink.com
11 Berkeleyside and The Oaklandside Berkeley California citysidejournalism.org
12 Boyle Heights Beat Los Angeles California boyleheightsbeat.com
13 CalMatters Sacramento California calmatters.org
14 CatchLight San Francisco California catchlight.io
15 Civil Eats Cotati California civileats.com
16 EdSource Oakland California edsource.org
17 El Tecolote San Francisco California eltecolote.org
18 El Tímpano Oakland California eltimpano.org
19 Fresnoland/Fresno Bee Fresno California thefresnoland.com
20 India Currents San Jose California indiacurrents.com
21 inewsource San Diego California inewsource.org
22 KPBS San Diego California kpbs.org
23 KPCC and LAist Pasadena California kpcc.org
24 Making Contact Oakland California radioproject.org
25 Mission Local San Francisico California missionlocal.org
26 Open Vallejo Vallejo California openvallejo.org
27 Prism Oakland California prismreports.org
28 Reveal Emeryville California revealnews.org
29 San Francisco Public Press San Francisco California sfpublicpress.org
30 San José Spotlight Turlock California sanjosespotlight.com
31 Shasta Scout Redding California shastascout.org
32 SJV Water Bakersfield California sjvwater.org
33 SoCoNews Healdsburg California socolocalnews.org
34 The Appeal Landers California theappeal.org
35 The Frisc San Francisco California thefrisc.com
36 The Imprint Los Angeles California imprintnews.org
37 The Mendocino Voice Ukiah California mendovoice.com
38 The Objective Los Angeles California objectivejournalism.org
39 Voice of OC Santa Ana California voiceofoc.org
40 Voice of San Diego San Diego California voiceofsandiego.org
41 Voices of Monterey Bay Monterey California voicesofmontereybay.org
42 WitnessLA Los Angeles California witnessla.com
43 YR Media Oakland California yr.media
44 Anthropocene Magazine Boulder Colorado anthropocenemagazine.org
45 Aspen Journalism Aspen Colorado aspenjournalism.org
46 Colorado News Collaborative Denver Colorado colabnews.co
47 H2O Radio Denver Colorado h2oradio.org
48 High Country News Paonia Colorado hcn.org
49 Rocky Mountain Public Media Denver Colorado rmpbs.org
50 The Sopris Sun Carbondale Colorado soprissun.com
51 The Water Desk Boulder Colorado waterdesk.org
52 Conn. Health I-Team New Haven Connecticut c-hit.org
53 NancyOnNorwalk Norwalk Connecticut nancyonnorwalk.com
54 New Haven Independent New Haven Connecticut newhavenindependent.org
55 The Connecticut Mirror Hartford Connecticut ctmirror.org
56 Yale Environment 360 New Haven Connecticut e360.yale.edu
57 Delaware Public Media Dover Delaware delawarepublic.org
58 100Reporters Washington District of Columbia 100R.org
59 Center for Public Integrity Washington District of Columbia publicintegrity.org
60 Current: News for People in Public Media Washington District of Columbia current.org
61 D.C. Witness Washington District of Columbia dcwitness.org
62 DCist Washington District of Columbia DCist.com
63 Floodlight News Washington District of Columbia floodlightnews.org
64 Global Press Journal Washington District of Columbia globalpressjournal.com
65 Investigative Reporting Workshop Washington District of Columbia investigativereportingworkshop.org
66 Open Campus Washington District of Columbia opencampusmedia.org
67 OpenSecrets Washington District of Columbia opensecrets.org
68 Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting Washington District of Columbia pulitzercenter.org
69 SpotlightDC Washington District of Columbia dcist.com
70 Street Sense Washington District of Columbia streetsensemedia.org
71 The DC Line Washington District of Columbia thedcline.org
72 The Fuller Project Washington District of Columbia fullerproject.org
73 The International Consortium of Investigative Journalists Washington District of Columbia icij.org
74 Florida Bulldog Oakland Park Florida floridabulldog.org
75 Key Biscayne Independent Miami Florida kbindependent.org
76 LkldNow Lakeland Florida lkldnow.com
77 Oviedo Community News Orlando Florida oviedocommunitynews.org
78 PolitiFact St Petersburg Florida politifact.com
79 The Marjorie Gainesville Florida themarjorie.org
80 The Tributary Jacksonville Florida jaxtrib.org
81 VoxPopuli Winter Garden Florida wintergardenvox.com
82 Atlanta Civic Circle Atlanta Georgia atlantaciviccircle.org
83 Canopy Atlanta Atlanta Georgia canopyatlanta.org
84 Capitol Beat Avondale Estates Georgia capitol-beat.org
85 Georgia Health News Atlanta Georgia georgiahealthnews.com
86 Georgia News Lab Atlanta Georgia facebook.com
87 The Clayton Crescent, Inc. Jonesboro Georgia claytoncrescent.org
88 The Current Savannah Georgia thecurrentga.org
89 The Red & Black Athens Georgia redandblack.com
90 WABE 90.1 FM Atlanta Georgia wabe.org
91 Youth Today, The Juvenile Justice Information Exchange, Fresh Take Georgia and Bokeh Focus Kennesaw Georgia sustainablejournalism.org
92 Honolulu Civil Beat Honolulu Hawaii civilbeat.org
93 An Arm and a Leg Skokie Illinois armandalegshow.com
94 Austin Weekly News, Wednesday Journal, Forest Park Review, Riverside Brookfield Landmark Oak Park Illinois growingcommunitymedia.org
95 Better Government Association Chicago Illinois bettergov.org
96 Block Club Chicago Chicago Illinois blockclubchicago.org
97 Borderless Magazine Chicago Illinois borderlessmag.org
98 Capitol News Illinois Springfield Illinois capitolnewsillinois.com
99 Chicago Reader Chicago Illinois chicagoreader.com
100 Cicero Independiente Cicero Illinois ciceroindependiente.com
101 City Bureau NFP Chicago Illinois citybureau.org
102 Evanston RoundTable Evanston Illinois evanstonroundtable.com
103 In These Times Chicago Illinois inthesetimes.com
104 Injustice Watch Chicago Illinois injusticewatch.org
105 Investigate Midwest Champaign Illinois investigatemidwest.org
106 South Side Weekly Chicago Illinois southsideweekly.com
107 The Record North Shore Wilmette Illinois therecordnorthshore.org
108 WCBU 89.9 FM and WCBU.org Normal Illinois WCBU.org
109 WGLT 89.1 FM and WGLT.org Normal Illinois WGLT.org
110 Limestone Post Magazine Bloomington Indiana limestonepost.org
111 The Indiana Citizen Indianapolis Indiana indianacitizen.org
112 WFYI Public Media Indianapolis Indiana sideeffectspublicmedia.org
113 WNIN Public Media Evansville Indiana wnin.org
114 IowaWatch Urbandale Iowa iowawatch.org
115 CivicLex Lexington Kentucky civiclex.org
116 Daily Yonder Whitesburg Kentucky dailyyonder.com
117 Hoptown Chronicle Hopkinsville Kentucky hoptownchronicle.org
118 Kentucky Center for Investigative Reporting Louisville Kentucky kycir.org
119 Northern Kentucky Tribune Edgewood Kentucky nkytribune.com
120 Southerly Louisville Kentucky southerlymag.org
121 The Current Lafayette Louisiana thecurrentla.com
122 The Lens New Orleans Louisiana TheLensNOLA.org
123 Amjambo Africa Portland Maine amjamboafrica.com
124 Harpswell Anchor Harpswell Maine harpswellanchor.org
125 The Maine Monitor Hallowell Maine themainemonitor.org
126 Cecil.TV North East Maryland cecil.tv
127 Chesapeake Bay Journal Mayo Maryland bayjournal.com
128 Hyattsville Life & Times, College Park Here & Now Hyattsville Maryland streetcarsuburbs.news
129 Maryland Matters Takoma Park Maryland MarylandMatters.org
130 MarylandReporter.com Columbia Maryland marylandreporter.com
131 Boston Institute for Nonprofit Journalism Quincy Massachusetts binjonline.org
132 Ipswich Local News Ipswich Massachusetts ipswichlocalnews.com
133 Lower Cape TV Eastham Massachusetts lowercapenews.org
134 MuckRock Somerville Massachusetts muckrock.com
135 The Bedford Citizen Bedford Massachusetts thebedfordcitizen.org
136 The Conversation U.S. Waltham Massachusetts theconversation.com
137 The GroundTruth Project Boston Massachusetts thegroundtruthproject.org
138 The Nonprofit Quarterly Boston Massachusetts nonprofitquarterly.org
139 BridgeDetroit & Bridge Michigan Ann Arbor Michigan bridgedetroit.com and bridgemi.com
140 Center for Collaborative Investigative Journalism (CCIJ) Grand Rapids Michigan ccij.io
141 Chemical City Paper Midland Michigan home.chemicalcitypaper.com
142 Circle of Blue Traverse City Michigan circleofblue.org
143 Detour Media LLC Huntington Woods Michigan detourdetroiter.com
144 East Lansing Info East Lansing Michigan eastlansinginfo.news
145 Flint Beat Flint Michigan flintbeat.com
146 Outlier Media Detroit Michigan outliermedia.org
147 Planet Detroit Rochester Michigan planetdetroit.org
148 Tostada Magazine Detroit Michigan tostadamagazine.com
149 WDET 101.9 FM Detroit Michigan wdet.org
150 Eden Prairie Local News Eden Prairie Minnesota eplocalnews.org
151 MinnPost Minneapolis Minnesota minnpost.com
152 Sahan Journal Saint Paul Minnesota sahanjournal.com
153 The Reporters Inc. Richfield Minnesota thereporters.org
154 The UpTake Saint Paul Minnesota theuptake.org
155 Mississippi Center for Investigative Reporting & The Muckraker Newsletter Jackson Mississippi mississippicir.org
156 Mississippi Free Press Jackson Mississippi mississippifreepress.org
157 Mississippi Today Ridgeland Mississippi mississippitoday.org
158 KCUR 89.3 Kansas City Missouri kcur.org
159 Religion News Service Columbia Missouri religionnews.com
160 St. Louis Public Radio St. Louis Missouri stlpr.org
161 The Kansas City Beacon, The Wichita Beacon Kansas City Missouri thebeacon.media
162 Montana Free Press Helena Montana montanafreepress.org
163 Mountain Journal Bozeman Montana mountainjournal.org
164 Threshold Missoula Montana thresholdpodcast.org
165 Flatwater Free Press Omaha Nebraska nebraskajournalismtrust.org
166 NOISE Omaha Nebraska noiseomaha.com
167 Nevada Public Radio Las Vegas Nevada Knpr.org
168 The Nevada Independent Las Vegas Nevada thenevadaindependent.com
169 The Sierra Nevada Ally Reno Nevada sierranevadaally.org
170 InDepthNH.org Barrington New Hampshire indepthnh.org
171 Bloomfield Information Project Bloomfield New Jersey bloomfieldinfo.org
172 CivicStory South Orange New Jersey civicstory.org
173 Food Bank News Maplewood New Jersey foodbanknews.org
174 Montclair Local Montclair New Jersey montclairlocal.news
175 Public Square Newark New Jersey publicsq.org
176 Shelterforce Montclair New Jersey shelterforce.org
177 New Mexico In Depth Rio Rancho New Mexico nmindepth.com
178 Searchlight New Mexico Santa Fe New Mexico searchlightnm.org
179 Sierra County Sun Williamsburg New Mexico sierracountysun.org
180 Adirondack Explorer Saranac Lake New York adirondackexplorer.org
181 Chalkbeat, Votebeat Brooklyn New York chalkbeat.org
182 City Limits New York New York citylimits.org
183 Coda Story New York New York codastory.com
184 Delaware Currents Port Jervis New York delawarecurrents.org
185 Documented Brooklyn New York documentedny.com
186 Feet in 2 Worlds New York New York fi2w.org
187 Food & Environment Reporting Network, Inc. New York New York thefern.org
188 Futuro Media New York New York futuromediagroup.org
189 Inside Climate News Brooklyn New York insideclimatenews.org
190 Investigative Post Buffalo New York investigativepost.org
191 Jewish Telegraphic Agency, The New York Jewish Week, My Jewish Learning, Hey Alma, Kveller, The Nosher, New York New York 70facesmedia.org
192 New York Focus Brooklyn New York nysfocus.com
193 NJ Spotlight News New York New York NJSpotlight.com
194 PassBlue Brooklyn New York passblue.com
195 ProPublica New York New York propublica.org
196 Radio Ambulante & El Hilo New York New York radioambulante.org
197 Retro Report, Inc. New York City New York retroreport.org
198 Rochester Beacon Rochester New York rochesterbeacon.com
199 Science Friday New York New York sciencefriday.com
200 Sludge Brooklyn New York readsludge.com
201 Solitary Watch Brooklyn New York solitarywatch.org
202 The 74 New York New York the74million.org
203 THE CITY New York New York thecity.nyc
204 The Counter New York New York thecounter.org
205 The Crime Report New York New York thecrimereport.org
206 The Forward New York New York forward.com
207 The Hechinger Report New York New York hechingerreport.org
208 The Highlands Current Cold Spring New York highlandscurrent.org
209 The Intercept New York New York theintercept.com
210 The Ithaca Voice Ithaca New York ithacavoice.com
211 The Markup New York New York themarkup.org
212 The Marshall Project New York New York themarshallproject.org
213 The Trace Brooklyn New York thetrace.org
214 Type Investigations New York New York typeinvestigations.org
215 Asheville Watchdog Asheville North Carolina avlwatchdog.org
216 Carolina Public Press Asheville North Carolina carolinapublicpress.org
217 Enlace Latino NC Raleigh North Carolina enlacelatinonc.org
218 Foundation for Financial Journalism Wilmington North Carolina ffj-online.org
219 North Carolina Health News Chapel Hill North Carolina northcarolinahealthnews.org
220 Scalawag Durham North Carolina scalawagmagazine.org
221 The War Horse Richlands North Carolina thewarhorse.org
222 WFAE 90.7 Charlotte North Carolina wfae.org
223 Belt Magazine Cleveland Ohio beltmag.com
224 Eye on Ohio Grove City Ohio eyeonohio.com
225 Matter Columbus Ohio matternews.org
226 The Devil Strip Akron Ohio thedevilstrip.com
227 The Land Cleveland Ohio thelandcle.org
228 KGOU Norman Oklahoma kgou.org
229 KOSU Stillwater Oklahoma kosu.org
230 Oklahoma Watch Oklahoma City Oklahoma oklahomawatch.org
231 The Frontier Tulsa Oklahoma readfrontier.org
232 Columbia Insight Hood River Oregon columbiainsight.org
233 The Applegater Jacksonville Oregon applegater.org
234 Underscore.news Portland Oregon underscore.news
235 Bucks County Herald Lahaska Pennsylvania buckscountyherald.com
236 Hidden City Daily Philadelphia Pennsylvania hiddencityphila.org
237 Next City Philadelphia Pennsylvania nextcity.org
238 PBS39 & WLVR 91.3 Bethlehem Pennsylvania wlvt.org
239 Prison Journalism Project State College Pennsylvania prisonjournalismproject.org
240 PublicSource Pittsburgh Pennsylvania publicsource.org
241 Spotlight PA Harrisburg Pennsylvania spotlightpa.org
242 Tradeoffs Philadelphia Pennsylvania tradeoffs.org
243 WHYY/News, WHYY BillyPenn & WHYY PlanPhilly Philadelphia Pennsylvania whyy.org
244 WITF Harrisburg Pennsylvania witf.org
245 Centro de Periodismo Investigativo San Juan Puerto Rico periodismoinvestigativo.com
246 East Greenwich News East Greenwich Rhode Island eastgreenwichnews.com
247 ecoRI News Providence Rhode Island ecori.org
248 The Hummel Report and Rhode Island Spotlight Providence Rhode Island hummelreport.org
249 South Dakota News Watch Sioux Falls South Dakota sdnewswatch.org
250 Institute for Public Service Reporting Memphis Tennessee psrmemphis.org
251 MLK50: Justice Through Journalism Memphis Tennessee mlk50.com
252 The Contributor Nashville Tennessee thecontributor.org
253 Austin Monitor Austin Texas austinmonitor.com
254 Borderzine El Paso Texas borderzine.com
255 Breckenridge Texan Breckenridge Texas breckenridgetexan.com
256 Dallas Free Press Dallas Texas dallasfreepress.com
257 Deep Indigo Collective Waxahachie Texas deepindigocollective.org
258 El Paso Matters El Paso Texas elpasomatters.org
259 Fort Worth Report Fort Worth Texas fortworthreport.org
260 Lakewood/East Dallas Advocate, Lake Highlands Advocate, Preston Hollow Advocate, Oak Cliff Advocate, Dallas Magazine, Plano Magazine Dallas Texas advocatemag.com
261 Mineral Wells Area News Hudson Oaks Texas mwareanews.com
262 NOWCastSA San Antonio Texas nowcastsa.com
263 Public Health Watch Austin Texas publichealthwatch.org
264 San Antonio Heron San Antonio Texas saheron.com
265 San Antonio Report San Antonio Texas sanantonioreport.org
266 Texas Observer Austin Texas texasobserver.org
267 The 19th Austin Texas 19thnews.org
268 The Austin Bulldog Austin Texas theaustinbulldog.org
269 The Texas Tribune Austin Texas texastribune.org
270 The Tyler Loop Tyler Texas beltmag.com
271 Corner Post Escalante Utah cornerpost.org
272 KPCW Park City Utah kpcw.org
273 National Parks Traveler Park City Utah nationalparkstraveler.org
274 The Utah Investigative Journalism Project Salt Lake City Utah utahinvestigative.org
275 The Charlotte Bridge Charlotte Vermont thecharlottebridge.substack.com
276 The Charlotte News Charlotte Vermont charlottenewsvt.org
277 VTDigger.org Montpelier Vermont vtdigger.org
278 Charlottesville Tomorrow Charlottesville Virginia cvilletomorrow.org
279 Greater Washington Educational Telecommunications Association, Inc. Arlington Virginia pbsnewshour.org
280 Piedmont Journalism Foundation (via) the Fauquier Times The Plains Virginia piedmontjournalism.org
281 Rappahannock News Washington Virginia foothillsforum.org
282 Virginia Center for Investigative Journalism Crozet Virginia vcij.org
283 Crosscut Seattle Washington crosscut.com
284 Gig Harbor Now Gig Harbor Washington gigharbornow.org
285 Grist Seattle Washington grist.org
286 InvestigateWest Seattle Washington invw.org
287 Key Peninsula News Vaughn Washington keypennews.org
288 Salish Current Bellingham Washington salish-current.org
289 The JOLT - The Journal of Olympia, Lacey & Tumwater Olympia Washington thejoltnews.com
290 YES! Magazine Bainbridge Island Washington yesmagazine.org
291 100 Days in Appalachia Morgantown West Virginia 100daysinappalachia.com
292 Mountain State Spotlight Charleston West Virginia mountainstatespotlight.org
293 Isthmus Madison Wisconsin isthmus.com
294 Knock Egg Harbor Wisconsin doorcountyknock.org
295 Madison365 Madison Wisconsin Madison365.org
296 Milwaukee Neighborhood News Service Milwaukee Wisconsin milwaukeenns.org
297 MIWISCONSIN.ORG Madison Wisconsin miwisconsin.org
298 The Badger Project Madison Wisconsin thebadgerproject.org
299 Tone Madison Madison Wisconsin tonemadison.com
300 Wausau Pilot & Review Wausau Wisconsin wausaupilotandreview.com
301 Wisconsin Center for Investigative Journalism Madison Wisconsin wisconsinwatch.org
302 WyoFile Lander Wyoming wyofile.com